Margaryta Golovko


Margaryta Golovko is the winner of the 2014 Midwest International Piano Competition sponsored by the University of Northern Iowa School of Music.

Margaryta was born in the Kamenets-Podolsk region of Ukraine and started her piano studies in 1997 at the Kiev Special Music School with Professor Boris Fedorov. She continued her studies with Mr. Fedorov from 2004-2009 at the National Music Academy of Ukraine (NMAU), receiving her master diploma. From 2009 until 2012, she was an assistant trainee at the NMAU under the guidance of Mr. Fedorov. Currently, Margaryta is studying at the International Piano Academy 'Incontri col Maestri' in Imola, Italy with Professor Piero Rattalino.

In 2006, Margaryta participated in the International Piano Competition "Citta di Marsala" in Marsala, Italy, winning the 3rd prize. At the 30th International Smetana Piano Competition in Pilsen, Czech Republic, in 2012, she was awarded 1st prize and the EMCY Prize. Also in 2012, she receive the 3rd Prize and the Bacau Orchestra prize at the 1st International Piano Competition "Citta di Acquaviva delle Fonti" in Italy.

Margaryta has performed as soloist, as part of ensembles and as collaborative pianist in concert halls in Ukraine, France, Germany, Italy and Russia. Margaryta has performed concerts with the Kiev State Symphony Orchestra, the Bacau Philharmonic Orchestra and the Youth Orchestra of the Helycon Symphony Orchestra.

In addition to the Midwest International Piano Competition, Margaryta's recent activities have included the International Music Festival MITO Settembre Musica in Milan, Italy, performing Rachmaninoff's Variations on a Theme by Chopin, and in recital at the Mozart Hall at the Filarmonic Academy of Bologna.

For Booking Information contact:Rich Frevert, President, Heartland Concert Artists, LLC, 612-202-8383,,

register as a fan for free
Register as a fan of "Margaryta Golovko" and get the latest news via E-Mail.
register as a fan
After sending your data you will get an E-Mail where you can accept your subscription.
Margaryta Golovko with the Waterloo Cedar Falls Symphony Orchestra
2014-11-02 Waterloo Courier, Waterloo, IA

Next came an astounding performance of Johannes Brahms' First Piano Concerto, with guest soloist Margaryta Golovko at the keyboard. We had the honor of hearing the first-place winner of this past summer's Midwest International Piano Competition at the University of Northern Iowa. This was her orchestra debut in the U.S.

Brahms First is an expansive work filled with grandeur and excitement. From the huge opening of the rolling drums and slashing chords to the more prayerful Adagio and the romp of the final Rondo movement, it is filled with intense emotion, beauty and power. Not to mention technical challenges of the highest order.

Golovko met those challenges with ease in a stunning reading of the Brahms. She also won the audience's heart with her personal beauty and charm as shown by their standing ovation.

(George Day)
share on facebook