Finals of the 4th Progressive Classical Music Award

Your vote counts – the world premiere of the prize-winning works with public voting. Bringing a breath of fresh air to the chamber music scene and reviving classical music – that was the aim of Marie-Luise & Christoph Dingler (The Twiolins ) when they created the Progressive Classical Music Award.

The competition is held every three to four years to expand the repertoire for two violins. In the years 2009, 2012 and 2015 it enjoyed a great response with over 550 participating composers from 50 countries. The competition is deliberately designed to be open in order to create innovative music with contemporary emotions. This diversity of styles is intended to contribute to sustainable further development of the classical concert and audience.

An international jury of prominent musicians was put together for the anniversary year: Julian Rachlin, the current star of the violin scene, will examine the compositions together with Aleksey Igudesman, also a star violinist, known from the humorous formation “Igudesman & Joo” and composer of many duo works. In addition, Benedikt Brydern, 1st prize winner of the past PCM Award, will also be a member of the jury. Together with the Twiolins, they will select six works from all the entries, which will be premiered to a large audience at the finale on 28 September 2019 in Mannheim. The audience will then vote on the awarding of the prize.



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on vk
Share on email
Share on print