A Concerto Fantastique by Igudesman & Joo

Over 35 million views on YouTube. Invitations from major concert halls and orchestras. Endless performances with fellow musicians. And now that: Igudesman & Joo write their first double concerto.
More than 35 million views of Igudesman & Joo's videos give testimony to the duo‘s immense international popularity, which extends to the respect of large orchestras and fellow artists. The humorous approach they bring to classical music performance adds a light touch - with serious depth - and a certain joie de vivre to their collaborating orchestras, soloists and audiences alike.

In this spirit, the duo has been commissioned to compose a work for the Düsseldorfer Symphoniker, which led to the creation of the Concerto Fantastique, written for violin, piano and orchestra. It will be performed for the first time by the composers themselves and the Dusseldorf Symphony Orchestra on February 27, 2015, as well on on March 1 and 2, 2015 under the baton of Alexander Joel at the Düsseldorfer Tonhalle.

This commissioned work solidifies Igudesman & Joo’s status as a force to be reckoned with in classical composition, transcending their work as humorous interpreters of classical music. The scherzo in Concerto Fantastique does, however, promise a taste of their trademark musical flair.

Concerto Fantastique is based on two motives, derived from Igudesman & Joo’s first names: Aleksey (A, A, E, Es, A) and Hyung-ki (H, C, G, E). Each composer is writing different movements before passing them on to the other to put the finishing touches – allowing for the birth of a truly cooperative composition.

The „scherzo“ movement of this concerto represents a majestic battle between violin and piano concertos: Tschaikovsky versus Brahms, and Mozart versus Vivaldi! In the cadenza, the conductor tries to subdue the warring soloists – but who actually wins will only be revealed in the concert.

The finale is composed in the style of a painting in which each partner of the duo is only able to see the last piece drawn by the other. Eight bars are handed back and forth, but Igudesman & Joo only see each other’s final bar.

One can expect a stylistic diversity ranging from the romantic era to contemporary popular music like dubstep, reflecting the „inspiring and lovable madness of the 21st century.“ (Igudesman & Joo)

Also on the program: the Symphonie Fantastique op. 14 by Hector Berlioz.

The dates:
February 27, 2015, 8pm, Dusseldorf, Tonhalle, Mendelsohn Hall
March 1, 2015, 11am
March 2, 2015, 8pm

Igudesmann & Joo: Concerto Fantastique for violin, piano and orchestra Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique op. 14

Aleksey Igudesman, Violin
Hyung-Ki Joo, Piano
Alexander Joel, Conductor
Dusseldorf Symphony Orchestra
Author: HS Team
Comments [0]
Please LOGIN to leave a comment. login



After clicking on JOIN NOW you can start working right away. When you are done look into your inbox you will get an e-mail for authentication.
-- Advertisement --
-- Advertisement --