The Assembly Project


The Assembly Project is a flexible ensemble of singers and instrumentalists, bringing together artists in collaborative, multi-disciplinary performances. The ensemble is particularly interested in the connection between words and music, be it collaborations with the spoken word, opera, music theatre and song. The Assembly Project works with existing repertoire as well as creating, commissioning and developing new work.

Recent highlightes include ensemble in residence for St Magnus International Festival and the St Magnus Composers' Course in Scotland; the world premiere of Arts Council funded Toads on a Tapestry developed for the Magna Carta 800 celebrations; first performance of a new version of Greenvoe, a radio play and musical soundscape by Alasdair Nicolson and poet Stewart Conn, based on the novel by George McKay Brown and directed by author of Granchester James Runcie.

New projects currently being toured include Carnivals and Capers, an interactive children's show with actors and mime artists that covers repertoire ranging from The Ballad of Bulbous Sniff by Alasdair Nicolson; to Saint-Saëns' classic The Carnival of the Animals; a charming folktale of the sea and witchcraft from the Baltics; and a new arrangement for narrator and chamber ensemble of Bernard Hughes' Not Now, Bernard and Isabel's Noisy Tummy, which vividly bring to life the iconic picture books by legendary children's author David McKee.

Forthcoming highlights include a UK tour of the new staged production of The Ghost Train by American-based composer Paul Crabtree. A treat for the whole family, this brand new opera version of the classic comedy mystery thriller The Ghost Train is based on an original stage play written by Arnold Ridley (perhaps best known as Private Godfrey in Dad's Army) in 1923 and the film of 1942. Other projects include a site-specific opera with composer David Knotts based on Shakespeare's Pericles and a series of workshops and performances for secondary schools. 

Ensemble members include: Fenella Humphreys (violin), Rachel Spencer (violin), Ian Anderson (viola), Clea Friend (cello), May Halyburton (double bass), Emma Halnan (flute), Julian West (oboe), Fraser Langton (clarinet), Joseph Shiner (clarinet), Kevin Elliott (horn), Tom Poulson (trumpet), Owen Gunnell (percussion), Patrizia Meier (harp), David Knotts (piano).

register as a fan for free
Register as a fan of "The Assembly Project" and get the latest news via E-Mail.
register as a fan
After sending your data you will get an E-Mail where you can accept your subscription.

Short Profile

NameThe Assembly Project Founded2015
Home LocationBath, United Kingdom
Main languageEnglish