Ernst Krenek Institut

Even during his lifetime, Ernst Krenek, who left behind an oeuvre of more than 240 operas when he died at the age of 91, held quite an extreme position in music history. Because of his great versatility, critics in Europe often spoke of him as constantly changing his "style of composing," tacitly implying that a creative life must be stylistically uniform. In the United States, however, he was deemed the "one-man history of twentieth-century music," a unique and nearly unbelievable fact Krenek lived up to through his creation of work that spans more than seven decades of the twentieth century, from the end of the 1910s until the end of the 1980s. When taken seriously, this bon mot does not refer to the temporal concordance of his works or his participation in the latest developments in music throughout his life; it rather points to his role as a twentieth-century contemporary.
register as a fan for free
Register as a fan of "Ernst Krenek Institut" and get the latest news via E-Mail.
register as a fan
After sending your data you will get an E-Mail where you can accept your subscription.

Lamentatio Jeremiae Prophetae op. 93
An absolute challenge for professional choirs!!!
This 60 minute a cappella piece is a treasure that should be presented to an audience more often!

Monolog der Stella op. 57
Text by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe (from "Stella", Act 4, scene 1). English translation by Ernst Krenek (below):

Beautifully you blossom, more beautiful than ever,
lovely place of eternal peace. 
But you allure me no more, you make me shudder,
cool, loose earth.

Ah how often, in hours of fancy, I covered head and breast in the cloak of death.
I stood calm near your depth and stepped down, 
and hid my miserable heart under your living cover.
There, corruption, you should. like a dear infant,
sucle this overflowing breast
and dissolve my existence in a pleasant dream.

Yet now...Ah! Heaven's sun shines in.
It is so light, so open around me,
and I rejoice in it.

He is there again!
In one momentthe entire living creatin appears around me.
I am all life and want to drink from his lips 
new, warm, glowing life!
To live near him, with him in lasting strength.
He comes! No, not yet,
Here he may find me, here on my grass altar 
under my rose branches.
I wIll pluck these little buds for him.
And then I will lead him to this arbor.

I was indeed well, however, that I arranged it, small as it is, for two.
But if only he would come! At once forsaken?
Do I then have him again?
He is there! He is there!

Ernst Krenek
as a conductor 
Mikhail Korzhev plays Ernst Krenek George Washington Variations for piano, op120
George Washington Variations, Op. 120. Composed March 21-29 1950. 

1. Washington's Grand March
2. The same, elaborated upon
3. Battle Music
4. Elegy
5. The Chase
6. Sarabande
7. Grand Finale, with the Martial Cotillion

The tunes of the Grand March and the Military Cotillion were found in a manuscript book of the Euterpean Society of Hartford, Conn. about 1800 (EK)

Ernst Krenek
good looking! 
Triophantasie, Op.63 (1929)
Could be something for your repertoire!