Delta Piano Trio

(c) Delta Piano Trio

Delta Piano Trio and Naxos Records present: Taneyev and Borodin

Delta Piano Trio and Naxos present: Piano trios by Taneyev and Borodin.

Sergey Taneyev was a distinguished pianist and influential educator, succeeding Tchaikovsky as professor at the Moscow Conservatory and counting Scriabin and Rachmaninov among his students. The Piano Trio Op. 22 is a demonstration of Taneyev’s technical skill, lled with subtle use of counterpoint, lyrical expressiveness and virtuoso reworks. Alexander Borodin was a leading member of the ‘Mighty Handful’, and his incomplete but brilliant Piano Trio was seen by Glinka as setting a precedent in the genre for its deeply Russian character.

TANEYEV, S.I.: Piano Trio, Op. 22 / BORODIN, A.P.: Piano Trio (Delta Piano Trio)
Naxos 8.573561
more photos
more videos