Boris Slutsky

Credits: scotjack

Antonin Dvořák's Piano Quintet, Op. 81 1st Mvmt.

This magnificent performance of Antonin Dvořák's Piano Quintet, Op. 81 was only one piece of a superb programme played by several of the master musicians who spend two weeks each year teaching at the annual International Academy of Music Festival in Tuscany. What makes this performance so remarkable is that these musicians had very limited time to rehearse together -- and only after a full day giving master classes to the students! It was performed in one of the beautiful old churches of Barga, Tuscany in 2005.
This is the first movement -- Allegro, ma non tanto. I will post the other three movements if requested -- the Scherzo is spectacular -- Boris Slutsky plays with such passion.
(In order to squeeze this lengthy first movement into the Youtube 10 minute rule we had to edit out of the first 4 minute repeat. We hope this does not spoil it too much for Dvořák enthusiasts.)
    more photos
    more videos