Aviv Quartet


Sergey Ostrovsky - First violin

Evgenia Epshtein - Second violin

Timur Yakobov - Viola

Aleksandr Khramouchin - Cello

The Aviv Quartet was founded in Israel in 1997 and has performed in the world's leading chamber music venues including Carnegie Hall and Alice Tully Hall in New York, the Kennedy Center and the Library of Congress in Washington, Wigmore Hall and Southbank Centre in London, the Louvre Auditorium, Châtelet, and Theatre de la Ville in Paris, the Sydney Opera House, the Verbier Festival in Switzerland (complete Shostakovich quartet cycle), Vienna Konzerthaus, Cologne Philharmonie, Beethovenhaus in Bonn, Palais des Beaux Arts in Brussels and Alte Oper in Frankfurt.

Among the quartet's mentors are Isaac Stern, the Alban Berg Quartet, Walter Levin, Henry Meyer, and Ben-Zion Shamir. The Quartet has also collaborated with artists such as Yefim Bronfman, Boris Petrushansky, Anton Dressler, Toby Appel, Gilles Vonsattel, Boris Berman, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Eliso Virsaladze and Robert Levin.

In the 2011-12 season, the Aviv Quartet made its debut at the Concertgebouw Amsterdam, and performed at De Doelen Rotterdam, the Geneva Chamber Series, and other venues across Europe, Israel and United States.

Aviv, meaning 'spring' in Hebrew, a signifier of new beginnings and the season of birth and fresh thinking encompasses the Aviv Quartet's artistic philosophy of stripping away artificial coverings "to reveal true nature, sharper definition and heightened awareness".

The Quartet's recordings for Naxos, including works by Schulhoff and Dohnanyi, have been highly acclaimed for their freshness of spirit and vivacity.



register as a fan for free
Register as a fan of "Aviv Quartet" and get the latest news via E-Mail.
register as a fan
After sending your data you will get an E-Mail where you can accept your subscription.